6 Scriptures to Beat Back Overwhelm this Christmas Season

  

  
It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all the business and activities which make up our daily lives but this time of year can be especially overwhelming with holiday shopping, traveling, parties and dinners. 

Life speeds up as we try to keep up with our usual activities with the added holiday hustle and preparations for the new year. 

I’m smiling as I write this because what I described above is not quite my life situation at the moment. I’m not busy with Christmas shopping and am completely not in the holiday mode. I don’t think I’m in anyway affected by the holiday hustle and bustle. 

Or maybe I am…

I’m actually on a vacation from my regular mission work right now for a short trip to another part of Japan to record both classic and Christmasy (so yeah, I guess I am doing something a little bit holiday-ish) hymns and pieces with a Christian ministry here. 

Upon arriving, I received piles of music for which I was to provide violin accompaniments. 

  

 
  
The only thing is that almost all of the sheet music I received where either piano parts or soprano parts or flute parts or…anything but violin parts. 

Upon realizing that there were no violin parts and therefore I would have to create my own, I headed to the practice room and didn’t come out for 3 days. 

Okay, just kidding but I have been spending tons of time with my violin in the practice room…

  

A very unflattering picture actually taken a few months ago BUT I think it adequately captures the way I felt today minus the crazy hat! 🙂

…Which is not necessarily a bad thing. Playing violin is my #1 hobby but I’ve found myself feeling a little overwhelmed with all the music to create parts for in the short time that I have. 

As a chronic perfectionist, I feel pressure to have each of the pieces perfect and the violin parts well arranged. I’m concerned that I will mess up the live recording. So when I felt myself getting really tense this afternoon I felt God telling me to take a moment and get a little boost from His Word. 

I know that in the grand scheme of things, my overwhelm over creating violin arrangements is pretty small and insignificant. 

But not to God. 

God does not say “cast your big burdens and cares on me only. You can handle the little ones.” That is just not what is written in His Word. 

Jesus cares for us like crazy and wants to be our help, strength and support in the seemingly insignificant overwhelming things of life as well as the significantly overwhelming things of life. 

Are you feeling the pressures of the holiday season or just life in general?

Take a break and check out these Scriptures that are guaranteed to beat back that overwhelm! 

Enjoy!

1. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, A strong tower from the enemy. Psalm 61:2, 3 (NKJV)  

2. Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. Psalm 37:5 (NKJV)

3. casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.  1 Peter 5:7

4. Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. Philippians 4:6 (NKJV)
 

5. The LORD will give strength to His people; The LORD will bless His people with peace. Psalm 29:11 (NKJV) 

6. You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Trust in the LORD always, for the LORD GOD is the eternal Rock. Isaiah 26:3, 4 (NLT) 

-J

What do you do when you are overwhelmed? Does life get just a bit busier for you around the holidays? Do perfectionistic tendencies create overwhelm in your life?


7 thoughts on “6 Scriptures to Beat Back Overwhelm this Christmas Season

  1. He WILL keep us in perfect peace. These scriptures are full of so much assurance and hope. Even without anything, if I just had Jesus, it would be ENOUGH! ❤ you sweet friend. May your eyes continue to follow Jesus and look unto Him, the author and finisher of our faith!

Leave a Reply

