7 Encouraging Texts That’ll Give You a Boost in Your Fight for Recovery

Ahhh yes…hello everyone! 

It’s good to be back on the blog today and it’s been awhile since I last popped in. 

Though it’s been a little bit my silence doesn’t mean that I’ve stopped thinking about recovery and am no longer continuing in the fight! 

Because recovery is a fight you know. 

A fight to say no when our eating disorder wants us to say yes and a fight to say yes when our eating disorder wants us to say no. 

In other words, it’s a fight to live by the Word of God rather than by the word of ED (or insert your own struggle).

It’s time to be strong. There is absolutely no time to lose in half-hearted efforts. The battle is on

Jesus, the commander of heaven’s armies, the One who created each one of us and who loves us to death, is our biggest cheer leader in the fight for recovery. 

Not only does He want to see us succeed, He’s provided a way to make it happen. 

Do you wanna know what that way is? 😉

[drumroll]

By the word of Your lips, I have kept away from the paths of [my eating disorder]. -Psalm 17:4 NKJV 

Okay okay, I did replace the words in this text that originally read ‘the destroyer’ with ‘my eating disorder’ but aren’t they the same?

An eating disorder is a slow destroyer. It literally worked to destroy my life, health, happiness, relationships with others and most importantly, my relationship with God. 

I’m not alone in this realization. Countless others who have experienced an eating disorder say that it destroyed their life, relationships, and overall wellbeing. 

And now I’m fighting back. Actually it’s not me because I have no strength of my own. All my efforts won’t work unless I link up with Jesus who is just waiting to give me unlimited strength for the fight… 

…The fight to say no to my eating disorder that has falsely sustained me for so long and yes to Jesus who can truly satisfy my every need. 

Essentially, my fight for recovery is the fight of faith fueled by God’s messages to me which are found in His Word. 

Of course these messages aren’t for me alone–they’re for you too. 

So today I’ve rounded up my favorite words from God urging us to be brave and am super excited to share them with you. 

The fight is real but God’s promises are real too. By the word of His lips we really can overcome ED! 

Isn’t that invigorating?

Until next time 🙂

-J

—-

1. Joshua 1:9 NKJV

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God [is] with you wherever you go.”
   

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/463378249139213199/
 

2. 1 Chronicles 28:10 KJV

“…be strong, and do [it].

3. 2 Chronicles 15:7 KJV

Be ye strong therefore, and let not your hands be weak: for your work shall be rewarded.

 

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/463378249139213094/
 

4. Deuteronomy 31:6 NASB

“Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you.”

5. Isaiah 41:13 NASB

“For I am the LORD your God, who upholds your right hand, Who says to you, ‘Do not fear, I will help you.’

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/463378249139031884/

6. Exodus 14:14 NLT 

The LORD himself will fight for you. Just stay calm.”

 

7. Ephesians 6:10 KJV

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.

What are your favorite Bible texts and quotes in your fight against your eating disorder? Have you tried incorporating Scripture into your eating disorder recovery? Do you find recovery to be difficult?

5 thoughts on “7 Encouraging Texts That’ll Give You a Boost in Your Fight for Recovery

Leave a Reply

