Adoring Christ–the key to recovery

  
Hello Friends! Or rather, konnicha! I am enjoying my time in Japan so far and am have recently returned from a full and adventurous day in town. I know, I know… It’s only Wednesday morning for most of you guys but here in Japan we are several hours ahead. Thus, when I Skype with my family back home they are essentially speaking into the future! xD

Life in Japan has been both exciting and challenging at the same time. I am adjusting to the culture and learning so many new things! In spite of all the action I wanted to stop in and say “hi” and share what’s been on my mind lately. 
—-

Adoring Jesus, I believe, is the key to freedom in all areas of life, including freedom from an eating disorder. When we focus on Jesus He becomes brighter and brighter in our minds until all shadows are eclipsed by His overwhelming love and care for us.

This almost sounds crazy. How can adoring Jesus really be a key to eating disorder recovery? But let’s stop and consider for a bit. When we lived in our eating disorder, we were consumed. What started out for me as an increased interest in personal health and wellness soon grew to take over my life.

The more I engaged in disordered behaviors the more my ED controlled my thoughts and nearly my entire existence. As I continued to nurture and consult my ED in all areas of life it grew stronger and stronger until everything was eclipsed by our relationship.

I was consumed–consumed with counting, measuring, analyzing, exercising and avoiding food.

Yet my actions were simply an outgrowth of my real preoccupation. I was really consumed with fear, uncertainty, insecurity and disappointment. 

Eating disorders are simply evidence of what’s going on deep inside. 

And that’s why adoring Jesus is such a powerful cure.

Because Jesus goes deep. He knew us before we were even born and there’s nothing we can hide from Him. 

Nevertheless Jesus will never enter a heart uninvited. He is too polite for that. He waits and woos in great anticipation of the day when we will actually allow Him to work in our lives to sort out and heal those underlying catalysts for our disorder. 

To adore is to honor, love deeply and respect someone or something.

As I mentioned earlier, it’s what I did with my eating disorder. I honored it’s wishes and allowed it to control my life. Although I wouldn’t say so at the time I adored it. It gave me some type of fulfillment and I didn’t want to give it up. 

When we adore Jesus the same thing happens. We become consumed. We love Him deeply, honor His wishes and give Him full control over our lives. He is constantly in our thoughts. We become preoccupied with Him.

And the awesome thing is that when we spend time adoring Jesus by studying His words, following His leading and seeking His presence, we lose touch with our former worship of an eating disorder. We are no longer controlled by it’s dictates and are able to experience true freedom. Jesus gently leads us along His  perfect path and makes us infinitely happy. 

It’s nighttime here in Japan and I’m a morning person so I’m not sure if I’m articulating well but essentially we cannot adore both Jesus and our eating disorder at the same time. 

It’s either one or the other. It’s impossible to serve two masters.

“No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon. -Matthew 6:24 NKJV

When we adore Christ, our eating disorder is eclipsed by His presence. Jesus heals us and saves us from whatever craziness may be going on in our lives. 

On the other hand, when we adore our eating disorder, Christ is eclipsed by our preoccupation and we are overwhelmed by the inherent craziness of life. We marinate in brokenness. 

Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I [am] God, and [there is] none else. -Isaiah 45:22 KJV

Jesus loves us! He wants our lives to be so much more than we could ever imagine. He longs to give us freedom and contentment. He wants us to turn to Him, worship Him, love Him deeply, and allow Him to lead our lives. 

Adoring Jesus is the key to true recovery! He has SO much good planned for us and as we turn to Him with all our hearts and minds He will heal us and help us to recover. 

I’d like to end with an old hymn that perfectly articulates the message of this post. 

O soul, are you weary and troubled?

No light in the darkness you see?

There’s light for a look at the Savior,

And life more abundant and free.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full in His wonderful face,

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,

In the light of His glory and grace.

Goodnight! 😉

-J

Do you think that adoring Jesus is a key factor in eating disorder recovery? How has Jesus healed broken areas of your life? Do you believe that eating disorders are an manifestation of something deeper going on inside?

6 thoughts on “Adoring Christ–the key to recovery

Leave a Reply

