Thinking Out Loud | Reasons for Recovery

Happy Thursday everyone!!!!

Excuse me! Rather, happy Thinking Out Loud Thursday! I love Amanda’s amazing idea to simply…well, think out loud! 😉 That’s exactly what I’m doing today in a list post on the reasons why I’m continuing to choose recovery from my eating disorder.

Oh and before I began I must say that today is the day I travel to my new home in Japan. My journey seems surreal and I am very excited.

So yes, happy Thursday everyone and hello Japan! 😀

  
I believe that my Japan trip has actually been the catalyst for my recent thoughts on my personal recovery motivations. My increased thoughts on this topic are a result of the realization that while in Japan I’ll no longer be in daily physical contact with my family. To me this is significant because my family has been my #1 support system in recovery. They’ve been with me through all of my ups and downs and I’m more than grateful for all that they’ve done to motivate and encourage me along this new journey.

 

Sis + Me!
 (Mom and Dad aren’t much into selfies but I love them SO much! :))

My summer with my family has been absolutely amazing and super beneficial for me in all aspects of my recovery. Considering the strong support my family has been to me thus far, I have a high awareness of how I will continue to pursue recovery when I am no longer physically with them. Although we will still be in close contact through mediated communication, I am also aware that being physically separated from my family could create the perfect opportunity for my eating disorder to take over again.

Not to be overly pessimistic or anything yet I believe that it is wise for me to be aware and honest regarding the preservation of my recovery.

Indeed life is so much more than an eating disorder and although there may be a constant struggle against it I know that reminders of why I’m struggling instead of succumbing to ED will serve as a powerful recovery resource for me in the future.

I was inspired by a list of reasons for recovery on this blog and while my list may not be as exhaustive I’m confident that it will be useful for those days that I’m just not feelin’ it. 😉


Thanks so much Amanda for the link up!

1) Because God loves me!

…and He wants so much more for me than bondage to an eating disorder.

2) Because God wants a relationship with me! 

…and that can’t fully happen if I continue to pursue a relationship with ED.

3) Because I want to be happy!

…and true happiness comes when I allow God to set me free!

4) Because I love my family!

…they’ve been through enough with me already and I want them to have peace concerning me.

5) Because it’s not about me.

…and God has a work for me to do for others that I’d be unable to perform to the best of my ability if I’m sick.

6) Because it makes me stronger 

…there’s just something about recovery that makes a girl stronger both mentally and physically.

7) Because Jesus is amazing and I love Him

…I’m a Christian and want to be a testimony to Jesus’ unlimited power to set anyone free from anything!

8) Because God created me to be me

…and I only have one body so why not appreciate it?

9) Because life is so much more than an eating disorder

…and I want to experience life full of joy, peace, abundant health and true freedom.

10) Because recovery is possible

…so why not give it a try?


We all need reminders, right? If you think that creating a written list of reasons for recovery would help you in your battle with an eating disorder (or anything else that doesn’t need to take up space in your life) I strongly encourage you to do so!

Let’s keep moving forward and have a lovely day!

-J

What are some of your own reasons for recovery from an eating disorder (or anything else for that matter)? What are some ways that you remind yourself to stay on track? Have you ever been to Japan? How do you strike the balance between being aware of your eating disorder but not living in fear of it?

11 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud | Reasons for Recovery

  1. This is such a beautiful post! I’m also a Christian in recovery and today was far from the best day I’ve ever had and it has been so tempting to succomb to the thoughts and urges to engage in ED-related behaviours, but this reminder was exactly what I needed! Thank you so much and God bless xxx

    1. You are too kind! It’s so encouraging to know that there are others along this journey. I’m so sorry to hear that it wasn’t one of your better days. 😦 Recovery has its ups and downs… You’re right some days the urge to return to ED is more than overwhelming but stay encouraged! Never forget to be kind to yourself and to cling to Jesus. God bless you my sister in Christ! 🙂

  2. These are really beautiful reasons to recover, lady! I think my biggest motivation was realizing that I deserved so much more than what a life with an ED could offer me. It’s hard to remember that life can be so much better when you’re stuck in the depths of an ED, but coming out of it and looking back, I could never imagine going back to that. Hope you have a safe flight!! I’ve never been, but Japan looks amazing!

  3. Going to Japan was actually a huge push factor in my reason to start recovery! I was going for a year on an exchange which had always been a dream of mine and wanted to be in a healthy place physically and mentally so that I could enjoy it fully. I think it’s really important to keep revisiting our reasons for recovery – sometimes its so easy to get wrapped up in negative thoughts that its easy to lose perspective. Keep fighting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

