{Vegan} Peanut Butter Carob Brownies

brownies2

Happy Labor Day and I LOVE carob!

Whether or not those two statements actually go together is arguable but it is Labor Day Weekend and carob has definitely played a part in mine. 🙂

Seriously though. Carob is amazing. And I’m glad I’ve found it because I don’t like chocolate at all.  (gasp!)

Oh dear! I hope I’m not offending those chocolate lovers out there but chocolate is just not-my-thing. Never really has been. I’ve tried it over and over again, thinking oh maybe it’s not that bad… However, the taste continues to amaze me–in a bad way.

Thus my love affair with carob grew out of my dislike for chocolate. And it only grows deeper as the days go by. I love everything from yummy handfuls of carob chips as a snack to a decadent carob cake in celebration of a loved one’s birthday…

Speaking of loved ones, this weekend has been full of time spent with them. My immediate family and I traveled out of town to spend the long weekend with my grandmothers and other extended family in order to spend time together before I leave for Japan.

I am definitely going to miss my family but am grateful for modern technology that allows us to “see” each other even when we’re miles apart physically.

But I’m enjoying the moment right now, both sharing and soaking up all the love and hugs this weekend. Time spent with family really is precious. I’m so grateful for two amazingly wonderful grandmothers who are so supportive of me despite their own considerations and concerns regarding my Japan adventure.

Whether it’s a formal family dinner or a lazy weekend breakfast, many of our family gatherings are spent around the table–talking, laughing, and enjoying one another’s company. And one another’s food.

brownies5

Many times our family dinners happen potluck style where everyone chips in to provide something towards the meal. For one of our dinners this weekend it was my immediate family’s job to provide a dessert.

When Mom suggested that we bring carob peanut butter brownies and I jumped at the chance to share my love for carob with my family.

(Remember I said that I was both sharing and soaking up love this weekend? :))

Thus began my quest for a vegan carob peanut butter brownie recipe that used carob powder instead of carob. Pretty specific, huh?

And then Google failed me.

The internet had very little to say on carob peanut butter brownies and even less to say on carob brownies with carob powder instead of carob chips.

What a dilemma!

I didn’t have any carob chips on hand and was not about to run to the nearest Whole Foods 40 minutes away just to purchase them…

So I created a recipe.

brownies4

And thankfully, it turned out. I know this because at first my Grandma tentatively took half of a brownie, then the the other half, then burst forth in loud comments of approval!! 🙂

Here’s the recipe for these Mom-inspired, Grandma-approved carob peanut butter brownies!

Enjoy your Labor Day!

-J

Chocolate or carob: which do you like better? How does your family usually spend time together? What do you like to bring to family potlucks? How have you enjoyed your Labor Day Weekend?

brownies3

{Vegan} Peanut Butter Carob Brownies

{The combination of carob and peanut butter is truly winning. The chunky crunch of peanut butter sets off the velvety smooth texture of the brownie, providing you with sweet satisfaction. Pair these brownies with family around the table and savor the countless blessings of life!}

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup carob powder
  • 3/4 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 2 TBSP baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup plant based milk

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix thoroughly.
  3. Coat a 9 x 13″ baking pan with oil and spread mixture over pan.
  4. Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until edges start to firm up.

Notes:

-Allow the brownies to cool completely before you cut and serve or else they will fall apart.

-Using 1/2 cup of sugar the brownies are only mildly sweet. If you prefer a more traditional, sweeter brownie then bump it up to 3/4 cup of sugar.

2 thoughts on “{Vegan} Peanut Butter Carob Brownies

  1. Though I am a dedicated chocolate fan, I tried carob for the first time the other day and it was quite delicious. These brownies look super good too – maybe a good way for me to get into baking with carob for a bit of variety 🙂

    1. Wow that’s so cool that you tried carob for the first time the other day! Glad you liked it. :)Also, happy to hear that the brownies looked good to you and if you ever try baking them, let me know how they turn out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

