Breaking Free from Bad Moods

Hey! It’s been awhile hasn’t it? I’ve been very busy lately and will soon resettle into my regular posting schedule…

Let me be extremely honest though. Although I’ve been busy with Japan prep, work, and other things, I’ve also been in a bit of a funk lately–actually a lot of a funk lately. Because of this, I’ve not felt the inspiration to write much on this blog of mine.

I don’t have lot’s of time this morning as I’m heading off to work soon but I’m happy to announce that I’m no longer in a funk ūüôā and thought it would be cool if I could share what brought me out of it.

Because everyone gets in a funk sometimes and it’s no good to stay there, is it?

So let me jump to the point and share what helped me ditch my 4-day bad mood.

[Drum-roll please]

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1Thessalonians 5:16-18 NKJV

Bam! The verse that you read above is the secret to bashing in every bad mood. Yep, you and I can totally demolish them (that is, bad moods) by following the steps outlined in the verse.

When my mom shared that verse with me in response to my bad mood I almost fell of the couch. Suddenly it was all so simple, God’s will is¬†not for me to marinate in a bad mood no matter what the circumstances or triggers that caused it.

Instead, He wants me to do differently.

He wants me to rejoice always.¬†The word always conveys a sense of perpetuity. I am never to stop rejoicing.¬†I know it seems impossible at times but God’s Word is to be trusted and He’ll give you and me¬†the strength to rejoice even when we don’t feel like it. He gives us plenty of inspiration for rejoicing¬†too! His beautiful nature, kind people, precious promises of the Bible and much more can give us cause for rejoicing. We just have to look for them!

Praying without ceasing sounds¬†even more impossible! I mean, how can we function in¬†life if we’re¬†on our knees all day. Well, fortunately God isn’t asking us to stay on ¬†our knees all day. I’d like to share this quote that explains this portion of the text¬†quite accurately.

The Savior has told us to pray without ceasing. The Christian can not always be in the position of prayer, but his thoughts and desires can always be upward. Sons and Daughters of God, page 99

So while I can’t literally be in a position of prayer all the time, I can allow the overall tenor of my mind to flow upward to God always.

My time is running out but it would be terrible if I left out the last part of this powerful verse. That is, to give thanks in everything.¬†Everything?¬†This is just too much. But then again not really because whatever God commands, He gives us the power to do, right? And now that I think about it, even in the worst situations, there is always something for which to give thanks. There is so much to be thankful for…such as silly sisters with which to take selfies… or being thankful that I still even have a head when I have a headache.¬†#sillyexamples

selfiecollage
(I know, we look pretty bad!)

Seriously though, when we venture to look outside of our less-than-positive situations and begin to cultivate thankfulness, our bad moods soon disappear! Our problems may not, but our attitudes become more positive and we are better equipped to deal appropriately with whatever comes our way.

And so that brings me to another thing that I’m dying to say to you this morning:

HAPPY SEPTEMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

At the beginning of the month I usually share a goal for myself for that month here on the blog.

So guess what? 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 is it. More accurately, to put 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 into practice by God’s power is my goal!¬†This month I want to¬†experience and do the will of God concerning Jade! Oh but don’t think you’re off the hook now. To rejoice, pray and give thanks is not only God’s will for me, it’s His will for you also!

So let’s¬†embrace all the good that He wants for us and I’ll share again at the end of the month how things went on my end!

“See” ya later!

-J

How do you break free from bad moods? What do you think “praying without ceasing” means practically in your life? What have you been up to lately? What are your plans/goals for September?

Leave a Reply

