Rosemary Garlic Quinoa Crisps + August Aims

crackersfinal

How’s it going on this lovely Thursday afternoon? It’s time for a weekly recipe post but before I share Surrendered Stomach’s first savory recipe I wanna say…

HAPPY AUGUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know, I know.  It’s five days late but the sentiment is what counts, right? 😉 On Sunday I got a bit caught up in the Scripture Savor Summary and held off talking about August too much until today. So now I’m back to share the recipe plus my August dreams and goals. Actually let’s call them my “August Aims” because that sounds more sophisticated. 😉

I definitely don’t have an inspiring challenge like last month’s but I’d love to just chat and share nonetheless. For me, August is highly symbolic. It represents the ending of summer (sniff, sniff) and the beginning of a the more intense part of the year.

This month I am consumed with prepping and packing for a long term trip to Japan for missions. I will be leaving in September and thus am working to get as much as is practically possible done by August 31.

I once read of a woman who was going on a mission trip and didn’t pack until the night before her flight. Yikes! I almost passed out when I read that. That is so NOT me. In the end she realized that she forgot something important.  I know that if I started to pack that late I’d not only forget one thing, but I’d be so stressed and flustered that I’d forget almost everything! Uh-uh and no this will not be my nightmare!

In an effort to avoid any possible stress or disorganization, I consider packing August Aim #1. I got the suitcases this week so now it’s time to fill them…

Unfortunately I see some shopping in my future. 😦 For the record, shopping is definitely not one of my preferred activities but I guess when one has a goal they do whatever it takes to reach it– even if reaching it entails non-preferred activities.

August Aim #2 is very straightforward. It’s simply for me to focus on drinking enough water per day. Studies on the benefits of drinking water are as numerous as the sand and the findings are much the same. “Drink more water… The average person doesn’t drink enough water… You should be drinking X times your body weight amount of water etc. etc.”

I’ve heard it all before but somehow when it comes down to the practical, I tend to get busy and caught up in my day which results in forgetting to drink enough. So this month I am intentionally working on remembering to hydrate myself adequately. My extra motivational nudge was discovering that water is one of the number one ways to combat anxiety. And why not? A dehydrated body means a dehydrated brain that can’t process clearly and doesn’t have enough oxygen to think on the bright side. By drinking enough water this month, I’m hoping to give my brain a fighting chance in clear, positive thinking.

As for August Aim #3, it is broad and deep and yet stunningly simple at the same time. What is it? To grow in my love for Jesus more! Jesus has done and is doing so much for me. In spite of this, I still sometimes doubt His leading. I know that He wants me to recover fully and not half-way so I want to be empowered to follow Him all the way. I want more love for Him because without true love there is no true surrender. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely love Jesus now but through meditating on His truths and talking to Him often, I’m anticipating my love for Him to grow exponentially in August!

August Aim #4 is to eat Rosemary Garlic Quinoa Crisps everyday for rest of August. Okay, just kidding and not to brag but I really enjoyed the interesting texture of these cracker-like crisps. I hesitate to call them crackers because their texture is not completely cracker-like. It’s slightly different (in a good way)!

On Sunday I was inspired to play around with quinoa flour because of a quinoa chip that I happened to see at the store while pursuing August Aim #1. Have you ever seen these?

For some reason the concept of quinoa chips blew my mind! I was intrigued. As soon as I got the chance I headed to the kitchen, blended some quinoa into flour and experimented.

Sure, I didn’t end up with chips but these cracker-like crisps are perfectly delish especially when lightly accented with two of my absolute flavoring faves: garlic and rosemary. (Thankfully) the experiment worked and I’m anxious to share. 🙂

Presenting Rosemary Garlic Quinoa Crisps to fuel your August Aims and mine too! 😉

presentingcrackers1

What are your August Aims? Have you ever packed for a long-term or short-term trip abroad? Have you found that water boosts your mood or helps with anxiety? What interesting or exotic chips have you seen or eaten lately?

-J

BeFunky Collagecrackers

crackersfinal14ever

Rosemary Garlic Quinoa Crisps

{You’ll be sure to enjoy the interesting texture and boost of protein that the quinoa flour brings to these crisps while the combination of rosemary and garlic provides your savory taste-buds ultimate satisfaction. These crisps are perfect to eat as a healthy snack or paired with soup.}

Serves: 4

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa, blended
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 TBSP olive oil
  • 3/4 cup water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place uncooked quinoa in blender and blend about 1-2 minutes or until quinoa turns into a sandy texture.
  3. Dump quinoa flour into mixing bowl and add all the remaining ingredients.
  4. Mix until thoroughly combined and form mixture into a ball.
  5. Coat a flat surface with white whole wheat flour.
  6. Roll dough out onto surface until it is about 1/8-inch thick.
  7. Cut dough into squares.
  8. Brush baking pan with oil and place crisps on baking pan.
  9. Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.
  10. Allow to cool and enjoy!

Notes:

  1. If you are having a hard time forming the mixture into a ball then add a little bit more water, 1 tablespoon at a time.
  2. These crisps burn easily so keep an eye on them while they’re baking. Depending on your oven, they may need to come out of the oven before ten minutes or stay in a few minutes longer than ten. In any case, use your best judgement and be careful they don’t burn!
  3. These crisps would pair well with hummus or dipped in garlic-infused olive oil.
One thought on “Rosemary Garlic Quinoa Crisps + August Aims

Leave a Reply

