{Vegan} Thumbprint Cookies

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

thumbprintcookietitlepic

Happy Thursday All! Many blogs are buzzing with some interesting Thinking Out Loud Thursday posts here and here and here thanks to the link-up created by Amanda at Running with Spoons. One day I’ll get up the courage to join ’em but for now I’m here to say “hey” and share my usual midweek recipe post.

Because although Thursday is for Thinking Out Loud it is also for Thumbprint Cookies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love cookies but rarely bake them. Kinda strange, right? I’m not sure if its because our family rarely eats dessert or because when I’m craving something sweet I usually reach for honey, smoothies or dried fruit! Anyhow, I’d definitely say that cookies have not had a huge place in my cuisine lately.

That is, until Sunday! Apparently Sunday is for Thumbprint Cookies as well because while baking these, I couldn’t seem to keep the batter from jumping into my mouth and sliding down my throat! (I know, I know I’m one of those folks who love raw cookie dough.) Matters went from bad to worse for my poor little cookies as many of the ones that came out of the oven never did make it to the plate! 🙂

thumbprintcookiepic2

Good thing it was a big batch so nobody noticed! (Hee hee)

How did I go from hardly making cookies at all to making such a big batch anyway? Well, my recent cookie baking expedition took place all because of my lovely, older sister-like friend. As I mentioned in Sunday’s post, she had a baby shower and the ladies who planned her shower asked us to bring the cookies.

thumbprintcookiepic3

Of course, we could have brought store bought cookies but how uninspired would that be! Okay, I guess that’s fine for those of you out there that don’t like to bake but as for me, I jump on any chance I get to whip up, mix up, knead up, whatever up some home-made yumminess!

thumbprintcookiepic7

Earlier on last week I began to narrow down exactly what type cookies I would bake. And boy are there so many types of cookies out there! Cookies get some serious love on the web and Pinterest especially.

Anyhow, I (obviously) decided on thumbprint cookies. I chose them because they are easy to bake, are aesthetically pleasing, and are so tiny and cute–just like a baby! I wanted to create a recipe of my own with the ingredients we had on hand and experimented a lot with different variations of the thumbprint cookie–oatmeal thumbprint cookies, flour thumbprint cookies, a mix of oatmeal and flour thumbprint cookies, thumbprint cookies with peach jam or grape jam and so on.

thumbprintcookierecipe1

It was tons of fun and after (much) taste-testing by my mom, sister, and I, we decided that the oatmeal based thumbprint cookies were the best. Actually my sister said she liked both in different ways but I think that the oatmeal ones were better because they had a lighter texture and taste. Another bonus is that you can easily make these gluten-free by using certified GF oats. Although you could use any type of jam you want to fill the thumbprint, I preferred grape jam because of its stronger taste and deeper color. Also, the recipe is scaled down to serve four instead of the 40+ people who were at the baby shower!

BeFunky Collage

Congrats to my dear friend/older sister! May you have a safe and successful delivery!!!!!!

Do you eat cookies often? What is your favorite type of cookie? Do you prefer to bake or buy for a party? How are the last few days of Scripture Savor going for you? 😉

thumbprintcookiepic4

{Vegan}Thumbprint Cookies

{These cookies are truly gems-small, adorable, and sweet inside! These cookies are already vegan and can be easily become GF-friendly by replacing regular oats with GF certified oats. They are a perfect addition to any party or even a simple get-together with friends. Go ahead! Invite a friend over and mix up a batch of these cookies paired with some Southern peach iced-tea!}

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place 1 and 1/2 cups of oats in blender and pulse until it turns into a fine, flour-like texture.
  3. Dump the blended oats (aka oat flour) into a mixing bowl.
  4. Add 1/2 cup remainder of oats that have not been blended to the mixing bowl.
  5. Add sugar, salt and baking powder to the bowl and mix.
  6. Now add the liquids: oil and water.
  7. Mix until it forms into a loose ball.
  8. Break off tablespoon-sized chunks of cookie dough mixture and roll them into balls.
  9. Place the balls of cookie dough onto coated baking sheet (you can brush a small amount of oil onto the sheet).
  10. Press your thumb into the center of the cookie dough ball to make a small indentation.
  11. Fill with a 1/4 teaspoon-sized amount of jam, being careful not to overfill.
  12. Place in the oven and bake for 10 minutes.
  13. Remove from the oven, allow to cool and enjoy! 😀

Notes:

Don’t have much to say here except that if the dough doesn’t form well into a ball add small amounts of water by the tablespoon to help the dough to come together.

-J


P.S., Pics courtesy of my sister Joi. They’re taken with an iPhone 5C. I don’t mean to brag but aren’t they awesome? I personally think she has a great eye.

Leave a Reply

