Carob Pudding

carobpudding2

Hey There! How’s it going in your corner? What’s up? How’s the weather?

Oh me? I’m doing fine. The weather? It is SO hot outside. Where I live the temperature has hit 100 degrees (at least) every single day this week.

I have always professed my extreme love for summer (and my not-so-fond feelings towards winter) but this weather is out-of-control.

I overheard someone saying of the weather recently: “It’s 1 million degrees outside!” So exceptionally true.

That is why I could write with confidence on Sunday that be back with a refreshing recipe to counteract this extreme weather.

I certainly didn’t foresee how difficult it would be to actually get the cold, refreshing, recipe to you though…

Originally, I had planned to test prep a smoothie recipe early on in the week in order to share it with you here on the blog. I absolutely love smoothies and find myself drinking one several times per week. Who doesn’t want a smoothie on a hot summer day?

Anyway, back to my story: I awakened Monday morning ready to carry out my plan when I discovered that our blender was completely broken.

Oh great, I thought glumly, and I was planning to post a smoothie recipe! What am I going to do now?

Well, to tell you the truth, I did nothing. 🙂 I simply waited until my mom bought another blender.

She bought it on Tuesday but soon after bringing it home made another bothersome discovery. The newly purchased blender was missing a part! Now it must be returned and another one purchased…

As of yesterday our kitchen is once again complete with a working blender. Yay!!!!

I was out most of the day yesterday but when I came home and saw our new blender,  I seized my chance and went to work. I began peeling, measuring, pouring–seeking to create something yummy and refreshing for my family and my readers. 🙂

I ended up tossing bananas, oats, avocado, honey and carob into the blender. And I must say, I’ve been on a full-fledged carob kick lately. Ever since I found a jar of carob powder sitting on our counter last week I’ve literally gone crazy making carob drinks, sandwiches, and cereals–sprinkling (actually more like dumping) carob powder onto and into everything.

Soon I began to feel a little guilty I was enjoying such wonderful carob creations all to myself so I decided to be nice and create a recipe to share so that you can enjoy the yummyliciousness of carob too! (Yeah, I just made up a new word.;) )

Here’s the recipe!  Let’s beat the heat!!!

-J

How do people live without a blender anyway? Do you use a blender often in your cooking? What’s your favorite recipe that requires a blender? Which do you like better: carob or chocolate? What’s your favorite way to ‘beat the heat’? Do you prefer really hot weather or really cold weather?

Carob Pudding

carobpudding1

{As you might have guessed by the title of this post, my creation ended up not being a smoothie after all. (I guess you could still enjoy it in a glass instead of a bowl if you’d like.) It’s consistency is more like a pudding. Yet it still contains all the elements essential elements of a smoothie for a hot summer day. It’s cold, creamy, sweet, and delicious. As for refreshing? I guess you could say that it is because it’s cold but it may actually be more comforting… I don’t know. To me its just plain ‘ole good and cold. I sure do you hope you enjoy it as much as I do. 🙂 }

Yields: Three 1 cup servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 Ripe Bananas
  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/4 cup Honey
  • 1/4 cup Carob Powder
  • 1/2 cup Oats
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  1. Place honey and water in a separate bowl and whisk until blended.
  2. Pour honey water mixture into blender.
  3. Add banana, avocado, and carob powder to blender.
  4. Blend until combined, adding oats to the mixture slowly.
  5. After all oats have been added, blend for an additional full minute.
  6. Serve into individual bowls (or cups) and place in refrigerator overnight to chill.
  7. Enjoy! 😀

Notes:

  1. Because I used fresh bananas and room temperature water, I refrigerated the pudding overnight to ensure that it was nice and cold. However, you should not have to refrigerate the pudding for more than 30 minutes if you use frozen bananas and ice water. It’s really up to you and how cold you want it!
  2. Feel free to add toppings to your pudding. Delicious topping suggestions are as follows: granola, coconut flakes, nuts, seeds, fresh berries, dried raisins, and so on.
Leave a Reply

