Oven Roasted Peaches with Honey Coconut Drizzle

When I said “until next time” in my last post, I had no idea it would be over a week since we’d talk again. 😦 Sorry for the delay… the last 9 days have been so mentally and emotionally draining that honestly I haven’t had the “umphy” to write.

Despite the bit of a difficult time last week, I have come out on the other side smiling :), and stronger for it too. I want to share the some of the happenings on last weeks segment of my journey when I find the words. (They’re lost in my brain somewhere.)

Anyhow… today I’m excited to share my first recipe post here on Surrendered Stomach!! You’d think I’d have created a recipe post earlier since cooking is (and has always been) one of my favorite things to do. I find myself in the kitchen on a daily basis, receiving great pleasure and enjoyment from creating healthy and (hopefully) yummy food. To me, cooking is the epitome of fun.

I hear you fussing over there. 😉 I know, I know. My apologies for not letting you in on the fun earlier. From now on you’ll be able to take a peek a little more often… How does that sound?

When considering what I should feature for my first recipe post here on the blog, I had initially thought that maybe some carrot oat bars would be most fitting. But my peaches literally got so jealous that they jumped out of their hand-crafted bowl and screamed: NO YOU CAN’T DO THAT! WE HAVE  TO GO FIRST!!!!

peachbowl

Okay, just kidding. I must be deferential to the peaches though, at least for now because it’s summer and peach season is on. So on that my fruit basket was full of peaches needing some public exposure somewhere. Truly it’s their time to shine. And why not on my table and on the tables of those I love?

Who knows? It’s summertime and you just might have some jealous peaches sitting on your tabletop too. Go ahead! Pop ’em in the oven and enjoy a healthy snack!

(I guess those carrot bars will just have to wait until another time.;))

peach2
Photo: Oven Roasted Peaches with Honey Coconut Drizzle

Oven Roasted Peaches with Honey Coconut Drizzle

{This recipe is absolutely simple. So simple that I felt compelled to add more to it. Since peaches are one of my favorite fruits, I decided to pair them with two of my other favorite foods: coconut and honey. Even with the addition of the honey coconut drizzle, the recipe remains simple and hassle-free. Apparently peaches, honey, and coconut take the stage together! The perfectly delicious flavor of the peach is highlighted during the roasting process and will leave you savoring the flavor in every single bite.}

Makes: 1 large serving or 2 smaller servings

Ingredients: 

  • 3 Fresh Peaches
  • 1 TSP Olive Oil
  • 1 TBSP Honey
  • 1 TBSP Coconut
  • Pinch of Salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 500 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Slice fresh peaches completely in half and remove the seeds.
  3. Cut the peaches into thinly sliced wedges.
  4. Place peaches in a non-stick oven pan and lightly toss with olive oil.
  5. Place in oven for 20 minutes, gently stirring the peaches after 10 minutes.
  6.  Remove peaches from oven and allow to cool.
  7. Place honey, coconut and salt into a small saucepan. Heat mixture on medium and stir quickly for 30 seconds.
  8. Drizzle honey mixture over peaches and serve.

Notes:

  1. I liked my peaches a little more roasted than even the 20 minutes in the oven. If you’re like me, put the peaches back in the oven on broil for 1-2 minutes. Now watch ’em! They burn fast! 🙂
  2. Even though my baking pan is supposedly non-stick, it’s old and burnt peach juice ended up being a chore to clean up. If you want to avoid any hassle, line your baking pan with wax paper, parchment paper or aluminum foil.
Leave a Reply

