Freedom!

starsandstripes

Happy Independence Day!

We all know the story of how our country won the battle for independence from Great Britain. Therefore, I won’t relate it here. I think that we are all grateful that we live in a nation where freedom is valued and upheld. I know I do!

It’s been 239 years since July 4, 1776. Through the blood and sacrifice of many, America won in the battle for liberty. Since then, our country has developed and matured. We are now the most influential nation on earth.

But what if things were different? What if this year we decided to begin negotiations to convince Great Britain to allow us to come back under her rule?

Wouldn’t that be absolutely ludicrous?

Or maybe not…

Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage. Galatians 5:1 NKJV

After closer investigation, this type of action may be more common than we think.

Over 2,000 years ago Jesus bled and sacrificed His life to give us true freedom. He had to die in order for us win in the battle against sin and to overcome its ultimate consequence.

He did it for you. He did it for me.

Yet I sometimes live my life as if He hadn’t sacrificed everything for me. When I sin, I dishonor Him by rejecting the freedom He so sacrificially offered. When I begin to flirt with sin, seeking to reincorporate it into my life, it is a direct disrespect to Jesus.

But it has happened to them according to the true proverb: “A dog returns to his own vomit,” and, “a sow, having washed, to her wallowing in the mire.” 2 Peter 2:22 NKJV

Just as it would be ludicrous and absolutely disrespectful for the United States to voluntarily submit themselves to Great Britain’s rule after all the sacrifice of American soldiers, so it is ludicrous and absolutely disrespectful to return to the bondage of sin after Jesus through His death has set us free

So let’s stand fast, treasure the liberty that Jesus surrendered His life to give you and me.

A celebratory lunch is waiting. 🙂 I must keep this short but let me leave you with this inspiring scripture:

He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing good deeds. Titus 2:14 NLT

Let’s be totally committed to Jesus, allowing Him to empower us to do good deeds in honor of Him and His sacrifice.

The lunch call was made… I really have to go now!! 🙂 Until next time.

-J

2 thoughts on “Freedom!

Leave a Reply

