Scripture Savor Challenge | July 2015

ss

HAPPY JULY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Words cannot express even half of my excitement! 🙂 I literally awakened this morning in anxious anticipation of good things. I am so perfectly pleased, extremely ecstatic and…just plain old happy. (Can someone find me an alteration for happy?)

I know, I know, you’re probably wondering why. What’s so special about July?

Here’s the answer: A few days ago when I was doing some personal reflection on the first half of the year, I realized that my surrender to God usually tends to “wear off” at around 5:00 pm.

Seriously.

You see, every morning in my quiet time I commit myself to God and feel motivated and ready to follow His leading. I usually maintain this trust and commitment to God throughout the morning and afternoon. During these hours, I sense my total dependence on God for absolutely everything. 

Then something happens. At around 5:00 pm my self-assurance and self confidence starts creeping back as my dependence on God silently disappears. I neglect or forget to ask God to show me His path, become distracted from my goals, and end up completely unaware of His presence. This leads to poor decisions, unhappiness, and ultimately regret. 😦

This should not be. God wants me to stick with Him all day long. He wants me to cling to Him because He is my very life.  I need His presence morning, afternoon, and evening.

Breaking out of my sober reflections, I decided that this next half of the year, I want life. Not just a regular life, but a successful one.

Now I hope you can see where my excitement is coming from. To me, July marks a sort of a new beginning. It’s almost a second new year (except it’s a new half year). Starting today, there is an entire half year ahead in which God is simply waiting to help me to be totally successful.

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. -Joshua 1:8, ESV (emphasis supplied)

Did you catch that? This verse really speaks to me. It says that if I keep God’s Word on my mind by meditating on scripture and following what it says then I will “have good success.” That is, truly good, godly success. I’m not talking about money or fame here. I’m talking about success in the Christian life—steps toward victory in the battle against negative tendencies and bad habits.

This is why I cannot allow myself to become distracted in the evenings. There is no time in which I can safely be disconnected from God or else I will fail to have true success.

Enter Scripture Savor.

{Scripture Savor| A July Challenge}  July 1-31, 2015

Scripture Savor is a challenge I committing to for the month of July. I’m excited to share it with you too. Wanna join me? Let me tell you about it…

Perhaps it can be most simply explained with the exact definitions of the two words themselves.

  • Scripture= a passage from the Bible
  • Savor=to enjoy the taste or smell of (something) for as long as possible

-definitions taken from merriam-webster.com

Of course you and I can’t spend time literally smelling or tasting words from scripture. However, we can savor and enjoy the scripture by using our minds to memorize and meditate on their deep, inspiring messages. Memorizing and meditating on the scriptures will motivate us to do God’s will. This equals success in our battles against negative actions or thoughts.

It’s a simple, 3-step plan.

  1. Every evening, set aside some time to spend memorizing a passage of scripture. 
  2. As you spend time committing the scripture to memory, think of its application to you personally.
  3. Pray for God’s Spirit to empower you to incorporate the exact scripture you memorized into your everyday living.

And that’s it. Feel up for the challenge?  I’ll be doing it too!

Happy, happy July and I’ll be back on the 4th with a post on freedom.

-J

2 thoughts on “Scripture Savor Challenge | July 2015

  1. Great idea, Jade! I was just thinking earlier today of doing something similar to Scripture Savor before I even read this post!

Leave a Reply

