Soul Food #1 | My Frustration, God’s Reply

Discouraged. Frustrated. Determined to return to my most extreme disordered eating tendencies. Angry. Frustrated. Frustrated. (Did I say frustrated?) Faith in God’s power to give me complete recovery totally shaken.

Yes, that adequately describes my feelings this morning.

On the verge of quitting and abandoning my quest to give God my full surrender in this area, I felt impressed to check out BlueLetterBible.org’s “Today’s Promise” feature. (If you don’t know about Blue Letter Bible, please check it out… an awesome Bible study tool.)

They have a Bible promise from each day of the year. Sometimes the selected promise speaks to my particular situation that day, sometimes it doesn’t Anyway, I thought I’d check…

So I did, blinking in disbelief at the words so plainly lettered on my computer screen.

For ye have need of patience, that, after ye have done the will of God, ye might receive the promise. (Hebrews 10:36)

I was dumbfounded. I still don’t have much to say. This verse was written especially for me. Wow! God really knew exactly what I needed to read this morning. 

But there’s more. Again, written especially for me this very morning. Perhaps these beautiful, inspired, supremely encouraging words will speak to your heart today too…

Read this. No comment. I’m just going to let God’s Word speak for itself…


Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus, By a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh; And [having] an high priest over the house of God; Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.

Let us hold fast the profession of [our] faith without wavering; (for he [is] faithful that promised;) … For if we sin wilfully after that we have received the knowledge of the truth, there remaineth no more sacrifice for sins…

Cast not away therefore your confidence, which hath great recompence of reward. For ye have need of patience, that, after ye have done the will of God, ye might receive the promise.

… Now the just shall live by faith: but if [any man] draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him. But we are not of them who draw back unto perdition; but of them that believe to the saving of the soul.

(Heb 10:19-23, 26, 35-36, 38-39 KJV)

3 thoughts on “Soul Food #1 | My Frustration, God’s Reply

  1. Interesting read… I love how God gives us the messages we need right when we need them! Keep living in surrender to God. Don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

